External Advisory Board

Bioengineering at Illinois is pleased to have a distinguished group of experts to help guide our growth. Members serve a three-year, renewable term and annually attend a meeting on campus. Learn more about our board members by clicking on their names below.

Yale University
Ebenezer K. Hunt Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, and Diagnostic Radiology
Georgiou Consulting
University of Chicago
A.N. Pritzker Professor of Radiology Committee on Medical Physics College at the University of Chicago
Qool Therapeutics, Inc.
President and CEO
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ford Professor of Bioengineering in the Departments of Biological Engineering, Chemical Engineering, and Biology
Johns Hopkins University
Bessie Darling Massey Professor and Director,Department of Biomedical EngineeringCo-Director, Kavli Neuroscience Discovery InstituteJohns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Whiting School of Engineering
University of Michigan
Ann and Robert H. Lurie Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Radiology
Co-Director, Functional MRI Laboratory
University of California, San Diego
Chair/Distinguished Professor of Bioengineering
Harvard University
Helen Andrus Benedict Professor of Surgery (Biomedical Engineering) and Health Sciences and Technology

We thank our former board members for their service and advice:

Susan Margulies, Head of the NSF Engineering Directorate
Ben Noe, Medtronic MITG
Robert Nerem, Georgia Institute of Technology
Gilda Barabino, Olin College of Engineering 
Rick Stevens, Argonne National Laboratory
Robert T. Tranquillo, University of Minnesota
Frank Yin, Washington University in St. Louis