Two bioengineering faculty elected to the 2022 class of the AIMBE College of Fellows



Biomedical engineering professors Andrew Smith and Ting Lu
From left: bioengineering professors Andrew Smith and Ting Lu

WASHINGTON, D.C.— The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has announced the election of bioengineering professors and Donald Biggar Willett Faculty Scholars Andrew Smith and Ting Lu to the 2022 class of the College of Fellows. 

Smith was nominated, reviewed, and elected by peers and members of the AIMBE College of Fellows for outstanding contributions to the development of semiconductor quantum dots, ultrasensitive medical diagnostics, and bioengineering education. He currently serves as the head of undergraduate programs for the department of bioengineering and is also affiliated with the department of material science and engineering, Cancer Center at Illinois and the Carle Illinois College of Medicine

Lu was nominated, reviewed, and elected by peers and members of the AIMBE College of Fellows for outstanding contributions to the design, analysis and engineering of gene circuits that control microbial cell functionalities. In addition to the department of bioengineering, Lu is affiliated with the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology, department of physics, the Center for Biophysics and Quantitative Biology and the National Center for Supercomputing Applications at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

The College of Fellows is comprised of the top two percent of medical and biological engineers in the country. The most accomplished and distinguished engineering and medical school chairs, research directors, professors, innovators, and successful entrepreneurs comprise the College of Fellows. AIMBE Fellows are regularly recognized for their contributions in teaching, research, and innovation. AIMBE Fellows have been awarded the Nobel Prize, the Presidential Medal of Science and the Presidential Medal of Technology and Innovation, and many also are members of the National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Medicine, and the National Academy of Sciences.

In 2021, bioengineering professors Jennifer Amos and Sergei Maslov were inducted as follows. A formal induction ceremony this year will be held during AIMBE’s Annual Event on March 25, 2022. Both bioengineering professors will be inducted along with 152 colleagues who make up the AIMBE Fellow Class of 2022. For more information about the AIMBE Annual Event, please visit

AIMBE’s mission is to recognize excellence in, and advocate for, the fields of medical and biological engineering to advance society. Since 1991, AIMBE’s College of Fellows has led the way for technological growth and advancement in the fields of medical and biological engineering. AIMBE Fellows have helped revolutionize medicine and related fields to enhance and extend the lives of people all over the world. They have successfully advocated for public policies that have enabled researchers and business-makers to further the interests of engineers, teachers, scientists, clinical practitioners, and ultimately, patients.

AIMBE Fellows are committed to giving back to the fields of medical and biological engineering through advocacy efforts and public policy initiatives that benefit the scientific community, as well as society at large. 

Make an impact at BIOE

Your gift to the Bioengineering Priority Fund provides vital, unrestricted support that allows the department of bioengineering to strategically invest in critical initiatives that will transform the student experience, drive world-changing research, and address social justice in engineering education and research.