BioE Professor Bashir elected fellow of AAAS

Greta Weiderman
12/9/2011 8:00:00 AM

Professor Rashid Bashir
Professor Rashid Bashir
Professor Rashid Bashir
Rashid Bashir, a professor of electrical and computer engineering and of bioengineering, along with seven other University of Illinois faculty members, has been elected a fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

He was honored for distinguished contributions to the field of BioMEMS and biomedical nanotechnology, particularly development of miniaturized sensors for medical and biological applications.

Bashir also directs the Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory and is affiliated with the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, the Institute for Genomic Biology and the Frederick Seitz Materials Research Lab.

The other seven faculty members elected fellows in the AAAS are Fouad Abd-El-Khalick, Debasish Dutta, K. Jimmy Hsia, Keith W. Kelley, Wilfred van der Donk, M. Christina White and James Whitfield.

The Illinois researchers are among 539 new fellows chosen by their peers for their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. The new fellows will be honored at the AAAS annual meeting in February.

“These faculty members embody the spirit of excellence that characterizes Illinois scholarship,” said Phyllis M. Wise, the chancellor of the Urbana campus and a vice president of the university. “Such commitment to quality inspires their colleagues and students, and advances Illinois as a leader in academics, research and innovation.”

Find out more from the University of Illinois News Bureau’s entire story about the honors.


University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1270 Digital Computer Laboratory, MC-278
1304 W. Springfield Avenue
Urbana, IL 61801, USA

P: (217) 333-1867 | E:

Copyright ©2018 The Board of Trustees at the University of Illinois

Privacy Policy | Engineering Cookie Policy